Mr. Jimi Agbaje’s hope of quashing the election victory of Lagos State Governor Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode Wednesday suffered a major set back as the State election petition tribunal struck out his case, challenging the victory of the governor.
Mr Agbaje was the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at the governorship election that produced Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the eighth executive governor of the State.
The Independent National Electoral Commission had announced the All Progressives Congress governorship candidate in Lagos State as winner of the April 11 election while the Peoples Democratic Party governorship candidate, Mr. Jimi Agbaje, came second.
However, the PDP rejected the result on the ground of what it called “the controversial” circumstances within which the election was conducted.
Ambode won 15 while Agbaje won five out of the 20 local government areas of Lagos.
Figures by INEC showed that Ambode polled 811,994 votes while Agbaje got 659,788 votes, a difference of 152, 206 votes.