Connect with us

Top Stories

Ambode, APC Leaders Boycott Fashola’s Book Launch



Leaders of the All Progressives Congress including Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, today boycotted the presentation of three books written in honour of the immediate past Governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, in Lagos on Tuesday, fueling speculations that there’s bitter feud between Fashola and his political god father, Tinubu.

A newspaper, not an24 had reported that the camps of the two former governors were spoiling for war, working discreetly to use the event of the book presentation to make statement about who is in control of the political space of Lagos and South West.

An24 noticed however that most cabinet members of Fashola’s administration including his two former deputy governors, Mrs. Sarah Adebisi Sosan and Mrs Adejoke Orelope Adedulire abstained from the book launch.

No member of the State Executive Committee of the APC was also present at the occasion.

But the National Leader of the APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, sent a representative, Prof. Tunde Samuel.

The books titled, ‘In Bold Print’, ‘The Lagos Blowdown’ and ‘The Great Leap’ is compiled by Mr. Hakeem Bello, media aide to Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola and another one written by Mr. Dapo Adeniyi.

The book launch was a direct opposite with that of the immediate past Governor of Rivers State, Mr. Rotimi Amaechi

Amaechi’s book presentation in lagos a few months ago attracted all the major dignitaries in APC including Tinubu, Governor Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun), Governor Abdulaziz Yari (Zamfara), Governor Nasir el-Rufai (Kaduna), Governor Samuel Lalong (Plateau), Governor Akinwunmi Ambode (Lagos), APC National Chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun; Chief Bisi Akande, former Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State among other notable personalities.

Observers say that the absence of former governors and leaders of the party may have let credence to the popular opinion that there’s no love lost between the two ex governors.

Political associates of the former governor that graced the event include former governorship aspirant Mr. Supo Sashore, former deputy Governor of Lagos State, Alhaja Lateefat Okunnu, former Commissioner for finance in Lagos state, Mr Wale Edun, former Senator Munirudeen Muse.
Others are Chief Judge of Lagos state, Justice Funmilayo Atilade, Deputy Chief of Staff to the Senate President, Mr Gbenga Makanjuola, Mr Lanre Babalola, Jide Sanwolu, Rotimi Oyeko among others.

Copyright © 2019