A former Bayelsa Governor, Timipre Sylva, has won the All Progressives Party Congress primary election to emerge governorship candidate for the December 5 poll.

The former governor scored 981 votes to win the ticket, beating Godknows Powel, who polled 39 votes to emerge runner up while Wallman Agoriba scored 28 votes to place third.

Announcing the result at the APC secretariat in Yenagoa by Mansur Alli , Chairman, Electoral Committee, Bayelsa APC primary election, said a total of 1147 delegates were accredited.

According to Mr. Alli, a retired brigadier general, “Out of 1147 accredited delegates for the primary election, Mr Timipre Sylva scored 981 to win other 18 aspirants who participated.

“On the result, five aspirants scored zero, there were 1120 valid votes and 27 voided votes in the election,” he said.

Speaking after the result was announced, Mr. Sylva commended the electoral committee on the smooth conduct of the primary election.

Mr. Sylva said he was ready to bring the much desired change to the people of Bayelsa.

He urged all the delegates and other aspirants to support his candidature to move the state forward.