By Philips Sunday

Abuja, (AN24) – President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday, November 1, 2016, received a sixteen point  requests from leaders of the Niger Delta region.

The Amanyanabo of Twon Brass Bayelsa State, King Alfred Diete Spiff, presented the 16 point requests to President Buhari on behalf of the leaders from the oil rich region who visited the President under the aegis of Pan Niger Delta Forum.

The demands are:
1. The Presidential Amnesty Programme.
2. Law and Justice issues: In view of the security situation in the Niger Delta, a number of pending law and justice issues regarding some aggrieved groups and individuals are yet to be resolved. It is important to address these issues urgently as a step towards lasting peace.
3. The effect of increased military presence in the Niger Delta.
4. Plight of internally displaced persons.
5. Ogoni clean-up and environmental remediation.
6. The Maritime University Issue.
7. Key regional critical infrastructure.
8. Security surveillance and protection of oil and gas infrastructure.
9. Relocation of Administrative and Operational Headquarters of IOCs.
10. Power supply.
11. Economic development and empowerment.
12. Inclusive participation in oil industry and ownership of oil blocs.
13. Restructuring and funding of the NDDC.
14. Restructuring the Niger Delta Ministry.
15. The Bakassi Question.
16. Fiscal federalism.

According to the Niger Delta leaders, the 16 points “quick wins can be achieved and can restore hope and confidence in a region that has grown skeptical of dialogue and engagements that have hardly produced tangible results”.

Recall the President had earlier scheduled to meet with the Edwin Clarke led delegation on Monday, October 31 but the meeting was later postponed to today, Tuesday, November 2016.

Notable names at the meeting include: Secretary to the Government of the Federation Babachir David Lawal, Chief of Staff to the President Abba Kyari, statesman Edwin Clark; governors of Delta, Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa and Imo states as well as ministers and other federal government appointees from the Niger Delta region.