By Philips Sunday

Abuja, (AN24) – President Muhammadu Buhari today, Wednesday, December 7, inaugurated the six newly appointed additional commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The event took place inside the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja shortly before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council meeting.

Those inaugurated included: Kudu Haruna (North-central), retired AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (North-east), Abubakar Nahuche (North-west), Professor Okechukwu Ibeano (South-east); May Agbamuche Mbu, (South-south) and Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (South-west).

After the inauguration of the commissioners, President  said that their appointments came at a critical time in the nation’s political development, adding that his administration was concerned about the integrity of the nation’s electoral process.

Speaking further, President Buhari stressed that it was his desire to ensure that Nigerians are allowed to elect their leaders according to their conscience.

More details later:………………..