Connect with us


BREAKING: #Gambia: Finally, President Adama Barrow Names Cabinet




By Philips Sunday

Gambia, (AN24) – President of the Republic of The Gambia, Adama Barrow, has named his cabinet for the tiny West African country.

Ten cabinet ministers in the capital Banjul were on Wednesday, February 1, 2017, sworn in, ushering in a new era in Gambia.

Among Barrow’s  ministers are political prisoners during exiled former President Yahya Jammeh’s regime including leader of the main opposition United Democratic Party (UDP) Ousainou Darboe, Omar Jallow, women’s right activist Dr Isatou Touray and National Treasurer of UDP Amadou Sanneh who was released from prison on Monday.

Darboe, who is now the Foreign Affairs Minister was arrested in April 2016 for protesting against the death of a detained party member and was released together with 18 other opposition members immediately after the election of Adama Barrow.

Below are the ten sworn-in cabinet minister of The Gambia.

  1. Minister of Foreign Affairs – Ousainou Darboe
  2. Minister of Tourism and Culture – Hamat Bah
  3. Minister of Agriculture – Omar Jallow
  4. Minister of Interior – Mai Ahmad Fatty
  5. Minister of Forestry and Environment – Lamin B Dibba
  6. Minister of Trade, Regional Integration and Emloyment – Isatou Touray
  7. Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs – Amadou Sanneh
  8. Minister of Fisheries – James Gomez
  9. Minister of Lands -Lamin Dibba.
Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021