Connect with us


Igala Dissociate Self From Biafra Agitation



By Olufunke Olorunfemi

Lokoja, (An24)- The Igala Social-Cultural Groups on Wednesday dissociated the Igala nation of Kogi State from having any part with the Biafra agitators calling for secession in the country.

Spokesman of the group, Mr Barry Moses Idakwo at a news conference yesterday in Lokoja expressed anger over the inclusion of the Igala nation in the map of the Republic of Biafra being agitated for by the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) and others.

The group lamented that it was an attempt to balkanise the ancient Igala nation, stressing that Nigeria is a democratic country where any Nigerian should be allowed to live peacefully and secured as prescribed by laws without any fear of intimidation.

“The agitators for Biafra have marginalisation as the main plan for their grievances. It is therefore unthinkable to annex the Igala kingdom without consulting us. This is against the spirit of fairness, sovereignty, equity, peaceful cohabitation and democracy to falsely claimed that Igala kingdom which was never defeated in any war as part of Biafra,” he said.

He said that the Igala ethnic nationality holds the unity, oneness and indivisibility of Nigeria as sacrosanct.

“We urge our Igbo brothers to engage the Nigeria nation more purposefully for quality governance rather than agitations for separatist state,

“We, as a people in middle belt crave for peace at all times because when war breaks out, we will be at the receiving end the theatre of war. The last civil war holds wars very unpleasant testimonies,” Idakwo said.

The group decried the minimal federal presence in Igala kingdom in terms of infrastructure and appealed to the federal government to continue work on the construction of the Bagana-Guto bridge which link its people the FCT, South-east and South-South.

Idakwo said there was urgent need to swear in Professor Stephen Ikani Ocheni as a substantial Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria having passed through screening at the National Assembly.


Copyright © 2019