Connect with us


#OsunWestDecides: Live Updates From Osun West By-Election




Osun- The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has commenced the Osun West by-election in Osun state. The by-election which commenced exactly 8:00am, is taking place in ten (10) local government areas in Osun West Senatorial district.
Eleven (11) political parties are participating in the by-election, with the Social Democratic Party (SDP), the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and the All Progressives Congress (APC) being the three major parties.
The candidates for the three major political parties that are participating in the Osun West senatorial by-election are : former member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Bade Falade ( Social Democratic Party, SDP), Otunba Ademola Adeleke (Peoples Democratic Party, PDP) and Senator Mudashiru Hussein (All Progressives Congress, APC).
Hon. Falade emerged the winner of the Social Democratic Party, SDP at a primary conducted in Iwo, Iwo Local Government Area of Osun State on April 14, where he polled 15 votes to defeat his challenger, Rasheed Adeyemo, who polled 12 votes.
Similarly, the younger brother of late Senator Isiaka Adeleke, Otunba Ademola Adeleke picked the ticket to contest for the vacant seat on the platform of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, after two other contestants for the ticket, Senator Akinlabi Olasunkanmi and Mr. Olayiwola Falabi stepped down for him.
Otunba Adeleke had earlier been screened and given clearance by the APC screening and election committee while senator Mudashiru Hussein, who is the preferred candidate of Governor Aregbesola was disqualified, however, the national working committee of the party, upturned the report of the appeal committee which equally sustained the disqualification of Senator Mudashiru Hussein.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021