The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Dr Kayode Fayemi, winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Ekiti State.

Dr Fayemi was declared winner on Sunday morning, having scored a total of 197, 459 votes to defeat his closest rival, Professor Olusola Eleka of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored a total of 178, 121 votes.

Below is the breakdown of the election results as announced by the Returning Officer, Professor Idowu Olayinka.


Total number of accredited voters: 45861

APC polled: 197,459

PDP polled : 178,121

Total votes cast : 403,451