Connect with us


INEC Declares APC’s Sanwo-Olu Winner Of Lagos Guber Poll



Breaking: INEC Declares APC's Sanwo-Olu Winner Of Lagos Guber Poll

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has been declared the winner of the Lagos State governorship election.

Announcing the result at the state collation centre, the returning officer, Eyitope Ogunbodede, said Sanwo-Olu polled 739,445 votes ahead of Jimi Agbaje, his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rival, who polled 206,141 votes.

The development means Sanwo-Olu defeated his closest rival, Jimi Agbaje of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with 533,304 votes.

In Epe LGA, where Akinwunmi Ambode, the incumbent governor is from, APC scored 35, 609 votes while PDP polled 6, 464.

Similarly, in Apapa LGA where Agbaje hails from, Sanwo-Olu, secured 20,469 votes while the PDP candidate polled 5,959 votes, leaving a gap of nearly 15,000 votes.

Meanwhile, Sanwo-Olu who is graduate of the University of Lagos, was a commissioner under Babatunde Fashola, a former governor of Lagos state.

The results announced by INEC means Agbaje, a pharmacist, has lost his bid for the topmost position for the number one position in Nigeria’s commercial capital, having first run against Fashola in 2007 and Akinwunmi Ambode, the incumbent governor in 2015.

On the other hand, Ambode is the first sitting governor in the state to serve a term since the return of democracy in 1999.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2020