Connect with us


AITEO/NFF Awards: Ahmed Musa, Onome Ebi Bag Footballer The Year



Super Eagles stand-in captain, Ahmed Musa has been pronounced Nigeria’s best male football player of the 2018 season.

Musa who defeated Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo was honoured in an impressive ceremony of the AITEO/NFF Awards 2018 held at the Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island.

In the female category, Onome Ebi won the Woman Footballer of the Year Award as she beat the likes of Assisat Oshoala and Francesca Ordega to win the award, which she dedicated to her late dad and team mates.

The biggest moment on the night was when the 1994 set of Super Eagles were called to the stage to be honoured.

A short video of their exploits at that year’s AFCON and the FIFA World Cup ushered the legends to the stage and at the end of the video show, the entire hall rose to salute their galantry.

Physically present and bathed in applause were goalkeepers Peter Rufai and Alloy Agu, defenders Austin Eguavoen, Uche Okechukwu, Benedict Iroha, Nduka Ugbade and Taribo West, midfielders Mutiu Adepoju, Austin ‘JJ’ Okocha, Sunday Oliseh and Edema Fuludu and forwards Finidi George, Samson Siasia and Daniel Amokachi.

See full list of winners:

Young Player of the Year (Female): Anam Imo

Young Player of the Year (Male): Samuel Chukwueze

Fair Play Award: Akwa United FC

Fans of the Season: Kano Pillars FC Fans

Coach of the Year (Female): Thomas Dennerby

Coach of the Year (Male): Olugbenga Ogunbote

Goal of the Year: Ahmed Musa

Team of the Season: Super Falcons

NFF Development Award: Channels Television (Channels Kids’ Cup)

Special Recognition: Super Eagles of 1994

Lifetime Achievement Award: Governor Akinwunmi Ambode

NFF Presidential Award: Chief M.K.O Abiola (of blessed memory)

NFF Order of Merit Award: Fatma Samoura

Player of the Year (Female): Onome Ebi

Player of the Year (Male): Ahmed Musa

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2020