Connect with us


UNILAG Denies Issuing E-Money Honorary Degree



E-Money Reveals Institute He Got His Honorary Degree

The University of Lagos, (UNILAG) Denies news making wave that it issued CEO of Five Star Music, E-Money an honorary doctorate degree.

E-Money recently shared a picture on his Instagram account showing him clothed in convocation gown at the University’s convocation.

In the picture he released, he wrote;

“To God be the glory! I have just received an Honorary Doctorate Degree in Business Management and Corporate Governance at an event held inside the University of Lagos.”

“I’m joined here by the incoming Deputy Governor of Lagos, Dr. Obafemi Hamzat whose father, Olatunji Hamzat (an influential politician) also bagged a Doctorate Degree.”

UNILAG in a statement released showed the list of the people conferred with a doctorate degree and E-Money’s name was missing in the list.


The University of Lagos, # UnilagNigeria, on Thursday, April 4, 2019, at its 50th (2018) Convocation Ceremonies (Day 3), conferred Distinguished & Emeritus Professorship and Honorary Doctorate Degrees on the following eminent personalities:

1. Prof. James Dele Olowokudejo, a Professor of Plant Taxonomy, – Distinguished Professorship award.
2. Prof. Sulaiman A. Adekola of the Department of Electrical and Electronics Engineering – Emeritus Professorship award
3. Alhaji Lateef Olufemi Okunnu, a foremost Lawyer & a former Federal Commissioner for Works & Housing- Honorary Doctorate Degree (Honoris Causa) of the University.
4. Dr. Daniel K. Olukoya, founder of Mountain of Fire Miracles Ministries and a Molecular Geneticist – Honorary Doctorate Degree (Honoris Causa) of the University.
5. Mr. Jim Ovia, founder and Chairman of ZenithBank – Honourary Doctorate Degree (Honoris Causa) of the University of Lagos.

Please note that the University’s official colors are maroon and gold and the personalities who were conferred with these honorary awards by the Chancellor of the University (see pictures) are in the appropriate attire.

It is worthy to note that the afore-mentioned personalities are the only people who were conferred with these awards by the University of Lagos at the 50th Convocation Ceremonies, thus, any story stating otherwise is false and should be amended accordingly.

Thank you.

Mrs. C. Taiwo Oloyede
Principal Assistant Registrar,
Communication Unit,
for Management, University of Lagos”

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2020