Connect with us

Top Stories

List Of Just Confirmed Ambassadorial Nominees By Senate



Former Senate President, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki has congratulated members of the leadership of the Ninth Senate whose names were announced today (Tuesday) by Senate President Ahmed Lawan after their selection by the two major parties represented in the chamber, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Senate on Thursday confirmed three new ambassadorial nominees recommended to it by President Muhammadu Buhari early this year.

The confirmation followed the consideration of the report of the Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs chaired by Senator Monsurat Sunmonu, which had earlier screened the nominees.

The nominees who were confirmed are: Mr. Christopher C. Chejina from Delta State; Mr. Bukar Kolo, Yobe State; and Mr. M. A. Mabdul from Benue State, respectively.

In his remarks, the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, congratulated the new career ambassadors-designate.

He also wished them a successful tenure in their service to the nation.

Thereafter, Senator Yele Omogunwa from Ondo State laid the report of the Committee on National Planning and Economic Affairs on the nomination of the NBS board chairman and members.

After considering the report, the lawmakers confirmed Dr. Kabiru Nakaura as the board chairman of the agency.

They also approved the appointment of five others as members of the board.

Those confirmed include Mr. Akinola Bashir, Professor Moses Momoh, Wallijoh Ahijoh, Adam Modu, and Nwafor Chukwudi.

The Senate President also congratulated them and wished them a successful tenure.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2020