Connect with us


Wike Suspends 12 Local Government Chiarmen In Rivers



Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, has suspended 12 local government chairmen for their refusal to attend state functions.

This was conveyed in a statement issued on Thursday by the governor’s Special Assistant on Electronic Media, Simeon Nwakaudu.

Those affected are chairmen of Okrika, Emohua, Abua/Odual, Degema, Khana, Gokana, Ahoada East, Ikwerre, Eleme, Andoni, Omuma and Ogu/Bolo Local Government Areas.

The statement read, “Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, has suspended 12 local government council chairmen. The suspension of the council chairmen is with immediate effect.

“The suspended council chairmen are Philemon Kingolo, Okrika LGA; Tom Aliezi, Emohua; Daniel E.O. Daniel, Abua/Odual; Tony Phimoore, Degema; and Lahteh Loolo, Khana.

“Others are Paul Kobani, Gokana; Ben Eke, Ahoada East; Samuel Nwanosike, Ikwerre; Phiolip Okparaji, Eleme; Paul L. Paul, Andoni; Christian Nwaiwu, Omuma; and Erasmus Victor, Ogu/Bolo.”

Meanwhile, the state governor has notified the state House of Assembly of the suspension of the council chairmen.

Wike, in a letter to the Speaker of the House of Assembly titled, “Notice of suspension of the chairmen of 12 local government council chairmen,” premised his action on Section 64 (3) of the Rivers State Local Government Law No. 5 of 2018

“I hereby serve you notice of the suspension of the following 12 local government council chairmen for security reasons, for approval and ratification,” the letter read.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2020