The Ekiti House of Assembly on Wednesday lifted the suspension placed on its former Speaker, Mr. Kola Oluwawole and other members.

The plenary was presided over by the Speaker, Adeniran Alagbada.

The reinstatement of the affected members ( former Deputy Speaker, Mr. Segun Adewumi; Mr. Abiola Jeje (Ido/Osi 11), Mr. Adesina Animasaun (Ekiti West 11); and Mr. Dare Pelemo (Ekiti East 11) followed the adoption of the report of the Appeal Panel Committee chaired by Gboyega Aribisogan (Ikole 1)

The motion for the adoption of the report of the committee was moved by Aribisogan and seconded by Mr. Sunday Akinniyi (Ikere 11).

Aribisogan, leader of the house told newsmen that the lawmakers reabsorbed the affected members because they had earlier written letters of apology and showed remorse.

Africa News24 (AN24) recalls that the Assembly in October 2018, impeached and suspended the former Speaker along with 11 other members on the allegation of the passage of the N10bn Supplementary Budget of former Governor Ayo Fayose.

“The All Progressives Congress members in the spirit of love have made it possible for the successful plenary sitting today for the reinstatement of the suspended House members.

“Though, the Peoples Democratic Party felt that the suspended members, who are mainly from their party, should not be reinstated because of the internal crisis, APC members opposed that.

“The affected PDP members who had earlier written letters of apology are hereby reabsorbed,” Aribisogan said.