Connect with us


COVID-19: Presidency Reduces Media Houses Coverage To 13



Williams Babalola

The Presidency has reduced the number of media houses that covers the State House to only 13 to curtail the spread of coronavirus.

According to a statement by the Director of Information, State House, Mr Attah Esa, the restriction was necessary in order for the State House to comply with the social distancing rule of not accommodating more than 50 people at a gathering.

He said the restrictions will be in place “until further notice as the coronavirus incident indicates.”

READ ALSO: COVID-19: Osun Confirms First Case


The 13 media houses allowed to have access to the Villa henceforth are Deutsche Welle, NTA, Channels TV, TVC, FRCN, VON, NAN, The Sun, ThisDay, Leadership, Daily Trust, The Guardian and Vanguard.

The restrictions take effect from today. Before now, over 100 correspondents gather for work daily at the State House.

Findings revealed that the directive was part of efforts that may gradually lead to shutting down the Villa, except for essential services.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2019