Connect with us


NEMA Raises Flood Alert In 28 States




NEMA Raises Flood Alert In 28 States

Tobi Adebayo 

The National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) has announced that 28 states in the country fall within highly probable flood risk areas in 2020.

Director General of the agency, AVM Muhammadu Mohammed made this known during a press conference on NEMA’s plan for the ‘2020 Flood Preparedness, Mitigation and Response’, in Abuja.

Some of the states listed include Borno, Yobe, Gombe, Adamawa, Taraba, Bauchi, Plateau, Nasarawa, Benue, Niger, Kogi, Enugu, Anambra, Imo, Abia, Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Edo, Ekiti, Osun, Kwara, Zamfara, Sokoto, and the FCT.

He said “We have constituted a committee to lead the national preparedness, mitigation and response to 2020 flood. We organised a stakeholders’ experts technical workshop in March to analyse the Nigerian Meteorological Agency’s 2020 Seasonal Rainfall Prediction and developed the disaster risk management implications.

“We produced and disseminated the disaster risk management implications of the 2020 seasonal rainfall prediction early warning messages, to relevant stakeholders.

READ ALSO: Bus Driver Beaten To Death By Passengers For Insisting On Face Masks

“We have started public enlightenment campaign using the radio, TV Jingles, social media and so on, targeting vulnerable communities to undertake mitigation actions and prepare for evacuation to safer ground. We have also stock pilled relief materials, food and non-food items, that will be needed in providing succour to people that may be affected.

“Letters have also been written to inform all state governors, indicating the LGAs that may be affected by the flood and also suggested proactive mitigation measures that are expected to be taken.

“Nigerians should also ensure that they take all precautionary measures to avoid flooding and ensure that their drainages were well cleared at all times.”

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021