Connect with us


Ogun Assembly Minority Leader, Six Others Defect To APC



Seven members of the Ogun House of Assembly, on Thursday, dumped the Allied People’s Movement (APM) and defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers announced their defection in separate letters read by the Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo (APC – Ifo I) during a plenary in Abeokuta.

The defectors are the Minority Leader, Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo II); Musefiu Lamidi (Ado-Odo/Ota II); Yusuf Amosun (Ewekoro); Sikiratu Ajibola (Ipokia); Bolanle Ajayi (Yewa South); Adeniran Ademola (Sagamu II) and Modupe Mujota-Onikepo (Abeokuta North).

The lawmakers said in their letters that they decided to join the APC after due consultations with their leaders and supporters.

READ ALSO: Communities Fight At Reps Hearing on PIB

In his response, the speaker congratulated them for joining the ruling party.

He remarked that it was important to come together for the betterment of the state.

Oluomo appealed to other minority members in the House to also take the bold step and join the ruling party.

Out of the 26 members of the House, APC now has 22, PDP, one and ADC, three.

Credit: NAN

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021