Connect with us


Okonjo-Iweala Announces Four WTO Deputy DGs




Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Ganiyat Ganiyu 

The Director-General of the World Trade Organisation, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, on Tuesday, announced the appointment of four individuals as her Deputy Directors-General.

She named them as Angela Ellard of the United States, Anabel González of Costa Rica, Ambassador Jean-Marie Paugam of France and Ambassador Xiangchen Zhang of China.

This was contained in a statement titled, ‘DG Okonjo-Iweala announces her four Deputy Directors-General’.

READ ALSO: Alleged Kaduna Kidnapper Was Dismissed From Army – Spokesperson

The statement read, “I am very pleased to announce the appointment of four new Deputy Directors-General at the WTO. It is the first time in the history of our Organisation that half of the DDGs are women. This underscores my commitment to strengthening our Organisation with talented leaders whilst at the same time achieving gender balance in senior positions. I look forward to welcoming them to the WTO.”

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021