Connect with us


UEFA Sanctions Nine Super League Clubs Over Breakaway




UEFA on Friday announced sanctions, including financial punishments, against nine of the 12 clubs behind the aborted Super League project, after the clubs “apologised” and acknowledged “a mistake”.

Read Also:BREAKING: Former Minister Aisha Al-Hassan Dies

The governing body of European football said that “in a spirit of reconciliation” the nine clubs had agreed to a “Club Commitment Declaration” and accepted a five per cent cut in their European revenue for one season. UEFA said the three holdouts, Barcelona, Real Madrid and Juventus, would be “promptly referred” to disciplinary bodies.

Credit: AFP

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021