Connect with us


APC Senators Vote Against Electronic Transmission Of Election Results




Senators under the All Progressives Congress, APC, on Thursday voted against electronic transmission of election results.

The APC senator from Niger State, Sabi Abdullahi, had proposed an amendment to a Section 52(3) of the electoral act which said INEC “may transmit results of elections by electronic means where and when practicable.”

The proposed amendment was:  “INEC may consider electronic collation of results, provided the national network coverage is adjudged to be adequate and secured by the Nigerian Communications Commission and approved by the National Assembly.”

READ ALSO: Lagos To Commence Full CBT Entrance Exam For Model Colleges And Upgraded Schools

Senate President, Ibrahim Lawan, had first ruled in favour of the amendment by conducting a  voice vote.

But the senate was in disarray and the Minority Leader, Enyinnaya Abaribe, called for a division which would require individual voting on the floor.

Lawan acceded to  the point of order  raised by Abaribe.

The outcome of the election showed that 52 APC senators, including the chairman of the Senate INEC committee, Kabiru Gaya, voted against the power  electronic transmission of results by INEC while  The Peoples Democratic Party voted in favour of it.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021