Connect with us


FUTA Appoints Prof. Osundahunsi First Female Dean, School Of Agriculture




Professor Oluwatooyin Osundahunsi
Professor Oluwatooyin Osundahunsi

The Management of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, FUTA, has appointed Professor Oluwatooyin Osundahunsi, as Dean, School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, SAAT, effective August 2021.

She had earlier been elected into the position by the Board of Studies of the School.

Osundahunsi, a Professor of Food Science and Technology, is an alumnus of University of Nigeria Nsukka.

She joined the services of the institution in November 1996 as an assistant lecturer in the Department of Food Science and Technology and rose to the Professorial Cadre on the 1st of October 2010.

Osundahunsi, who has supervised 52 postgraduates’ dissertations, is a distinguished scholar of repute with over 88 articles published in reputable journals to her credit.

Her fellowship awards include the following, UNESCO/ISRAEL Fellowship for Post-Doctoral Studies In Science and Technology, Department of Food Engineering and Biotechnology, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel(2001/2002), Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship(AvH) Instituet Feur Biokatalyse, Technische Universitaet, Hamburg Germany(August 2009- September2010),1st February-1st July 2012  Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship(AvH) Instituet Feur Lebensmittelchemie, Universitaet Hhenheim, Stuttgart Germany September2019-February 2020.

READ ALSO: Sanwo-Olu Charges Youth To Be Global Leaders

She is a member of professional bodies such as Institute of Food Science and Technology, Organization of Women in Science in Developing World, Nigerian Institute of Public Analysts, Nigeria Institute of Food Technologists, USA and African Scientific Institute, USA.                

Within the university, she has served as head of Department, FST Aug., 2013 – 31st July, 2016 Departmental PGD Coordinator, Member, FUTA Fruit Juice Plant Establishment, Member, SAAT Postgraduate Advisory Committee, Member, SAAT Curriculum Committee, Member, SAAT Editorial Board of Agrotech., Member, SAAT Admission Committee, Member, University Senate (Rep. of Congregation, Member, University Library Committee (Rep. of Senate), Member, Committee on Feeding, International Science & Technology, Conference 2005 organised by FUTA, Member, Committee on the Preparation of Technical Assistance from Israel, Member, Protocol Committee on University Convocation, Member, Food Processing, Preserv. & Storage Sub Group. Centre for Research and Development, FUTA.  Member, Local Organising Committee (Exhibition and Marketing) Science Association of Nigeria (SAN) National Conference Held at FUTA.  May, 2007.

Member, Sub-Committee of A&PC on Standard Uniform Format for Report of Activities during Sabbatical and other Educational Leave. April, 2009.Member, Sub-Committee on Logistics for Abuja Capital Campaign.  Chairperson, (Local Organising Committee – Technical and Career Talk) “Catch them Young for Science” by Organisation of Women in Science for the Developing World and African Regional Centre for Space Science & Technology Education-English, OAU Ile-Ife (OWSDW – ARCSSTE-E) at FUTA 7th July, 2011Chairperson – Local Organising Committee of the Nigerian Institute of Food Science and Technology-Western Chapter Conference. National Food Security and the Vision 20:2020 – Challenges and Prospects for Food Processors.  Held at FUTA 21st – 22nd July, 2011, Member, Panel of Investigation on Dereliction of Duty and Falsification of Meteorological Data at the Meteorological Centre, FUTA. October & November, 2011, Member, Rep. of Senate on University Governing Council Committee on Issues Relating to the Appointment of the Vice Chancellor. Sept. 2012.Member, Committee on the Issues 2015.Member, Rep. of Senate on University Governing Council Committee on Issues Relating to the Appointment of the Registrar. March, 2017.Member, University Governing Council. 24th July, 2018 to Date (2022). Dean SAAT 1st August, 2021 to Date.

She is also a member of the Sport Council, Senate and the University Governing Council.

Professor Osundahunsi’s dedication and commitment to the university will in no small measure contribute to the growth and development of the School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology under her watch.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021