Connect with us


Sokoto Assembly Confirms Three Commissioner Nominees




The Sokoto State House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of three commissioner-nominees as requested by Governor Aminu Tambuwal.

This followed the adoption of a motion by the All Progressives Congress Leader, Bello Ambarura, at the Committee of the Whole on Wednesday in Sokoto.

Moving the motion, Ambarura said that it was in consideration of the request by Tambuwal, who requested the house confirmation for the nominees.

“This is in view of the provision of section 192 (1-5) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.

However, their nomination was necessitated due to the existence of vacancies in the state Executive Council,” he said.

The lawmaker added that the governor’s request was as enshrined in the public service rules and regulations as well as other processes required by the law.

READ ALSO: #EndSARS: Why Journalist Was Arrested – Odumosu

“Moreover, the persons nominated for the appointments are persons of proven integrity and dedication, who had served the state and the nation in various capacities.

“Thus, if appointed, they will assist the Governor in discharging his statutory responsibilities,” he said.

The Deputy Speaker, Abubakar Magaji, who presided over the sitting, put the motion into a voice vote after the screening of the nominees and was unanimously adopted by the lawmakers.

The nominees included Professor Aminu Illela, Shuaibu Gwanda-Gobir, and Hassan Maccido. NAN

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021