Connect with us


NURTW Crisis: Why Lagos Appointed Mc Oluomo As Chairman Park Mgt C’ttee- Lawmaker



Following the appointment of former Chairman of the Lagos council of the National Union of Road Transport Workers, NURTW, Alhaji Musiliu Akinsanya popularly called MC Oluomo as the head of the Parks Management Committee by the State Goverment, a member of the State House of Assembly, Hon Lukman Olumoh has described his appointment as a welcome development.

Olumoh stated this during an interview with our correspondent who explained that the state government could not afford to lose Oluomo’s experience and that was why he was reappointed to the head the committee.

In a statement signed by the State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Gbenga Omotoso, the State Government had appointed MC Oluomo as the Chairman of the Park Management Committee despite the dissolution of the State council by the national body.

MC Oluomo had also been sacked by the national body of the union.

Earlier, the State Government had on March 10, suspended NURTW operations in all parks and garages, following the tension sparked by some events in the union.

READ ALSO: Controversial Instagram Post: Leke Adeboye Apologises, Seeks Forgiveness

The latest development is the setting up of a 25-man committee to oversee the affairs of all motor parks and garages in the state.

In his reaction, Olumoh stated, “The 9th Assembly under the leadership of Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa is focus and visionary. I think I would not be understating it. Sometime the House decided to embark on reformation of transport system in Lagos State and we came up with the reform Transport System Law and which was assented to by Mr Governor.

“That was seeing tomorrow, a novel one from Mr Speaker, if we didn’t have that law in place. I imagine what Lagos State would have turned into with the sacking of Oluomo by the national body about two months, we would have a chaos, a very unmanageable situation.

“Like I said to people, the union, RTEAN and others provide massive employment to our youths and to a very large extent has helped us manage our security. If we didn’t have that opportunity probably we would have a situation of that of North West and North East and I’m very sure Lagos can’t cope with it.

“It is a welcome development, we have already built the sub-structure for the executive so they can lay the foundation for the parking authorities which is now in place. I’m sure it has brought peace to Lagos. The government has already initiated the way the revenue is collected through electronic system

“For me, it is a seamless transition. We have planned for it and now it has happened and it looks as if nothing has taken place. We give kudos to Mr Speaker, principal officers and members of the House of the Assembly. In the same way, I’m saying Mr Governor has done so well and his team, to have assented to that piece of legislation and implementing it on a gradual process for it to have materialized to what it is today.”

He debunked the permutation against 2023 elections, saying “There is nothing about 2023. It is business. 2023 is in the hand of God. Let’s wait till then but I don’t see anything of such. I just see that Lagos is a special breed. Is NURTW working in Oyo State? Why do you want to apportion such magnitude of guesswork to things that are being made to destabilize the polity?

Speaking on Oluomo as the head of the parking management committee, the lawmaker said, “Who would he have appointed to manage that committee? You want to bring a civil servant or somebody that does not have experience about the job? I’m sure, it is not an easy job to do. Be mindful of the fact it is not only MC Oluomo, we have retired AIG Hakeem Odumosu- a man of credible integrity. I believe it is going to be seamless.”

Members of the committee, who have been selected following consultations with stakeholders in the sector, are: Mr. Hakeem Odumosu (AIG Rtd) – Government Liaison Officer, Alh Musiliu Ayinde Akinsanya – Chairman, Alh Sulyman B. Ojora – (Deputy Chairman ), Dr. Taiwo Olufemi Salaam (Secretary), Comrade Olayiwola Lemboye, Alh Mustapha Adekunle, Alh Ganiyu Shittu and Alh Mukaila Runsewe.

Others are Alh Sulyman Yusuf, Alh Mufutau Mutiu, Alh Yinka Hassan, Alh Sunday Ogunleye, Alh Moshood Omojowa, Alh Ismaila Aigoro, Alh Ibrahim Yusuf. O, Alh Akeem Tijani, Mrs Omolabake Adelakun.

The rest are Comrade Kazeem Hassan, Alh Wasiu Amole, Alh Ganiyu Ayinde, Anthony Adeyinka Adeboye, John Victor Owolabi, Saburi Salami, Ibrahim Onitiju and Odusanya Gbenga.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021