Connect with us


Northern Governors Kick Against Lawan As Consensus Candidate



As Adamu Presents Senate President To NWC

Governors from the north elected under the platform of the All Progressives Congress have rejected the consensus choice of the party’s National Chairman, Senator Abdullahi Adamu.

Adamu announced Senate President, Dr. Ahmed Lawan as the party’s consensus candidate on Monday at the meeting of National Working Committee in Abuja.

Other aspirants including the party’s national leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu; Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; Ekiti State Governor,Dr. Kayode Fayemi and David Umahi, among others will however be allowed to contest the primary at the convention holding tomorrow at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

READ ALSO: Ondo Attack: Pope Francis, Catholic Bishop React

However, his decision was met with stiff rejetion as other NWC members insisted other aspirants must be given a level playing ground to compete.

Adamu’s adoption of Lawan as consensus candidate is against the position of 11 APC northern governors who endorsed that power must shift to the South after President Muhammadu Buhari’s tenure.

Adamu told the National Working Committee that he arrived at the choice of Lawan after consultation with President Buhari.

The northern governors are in a meeting with President Buhari to stop the National Chairman from executing his personal agenda in the name of the president.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021