Connect with us


Defection: Abaribe, Abdullahi Resign Positions As Senate Leaders



Senators Enyinnaya Abaribe and Yahaya Abdullahi have formally resigned their positions as the minority and majority leaders of the Senate respectively.

Abaribe represents Abia-South Senatorial District of Abia State while Abdullahi represents Kebbi North Senatorial District of Kebbi State at the 9th National Assembly.

Their decision to quit their positions in the Chamber was conveyed in a resignation letter submitted to Senate President Ahmad Lawan, which was read at the resumption of plenary.

The two principal officers resigned following their defection from the party platforms on which they were elected as senators.

READ ALSO: Cocaine Burst: Court Jails Two Co-Defendants Of Abba Kyari

While Abdullahi defected to People Democratic Party (PDP) from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Abaribe dumped PDP for All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

Lawan said, “Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe decamped from the PDP to APGA. He also has resigned his position as Minority Leader of this chamber.”

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021