Connect with us


Aribisogan: Three Lawmaker’s Reinstated In Ekiti



Three lawmakers supporting the former Speaker of Ekiti State House of Assembly have been reinstated after they apologised to the House through separate letters.

They were earlier suspended from activities of the House following their roles in stalling the passage of the 2022 revised appropriation budget.

The lawmakers are Yemisi Ayokunle, Ajibade Raphael and Tope Ogunleye.

Their reinstatement followed the adoption of a motion moved by Leader of the House, Bode Adeoye at plenary on Tuesday.

The Motion, seconded by Biodun Fawekun was unanimously adopted by members of the House.

READ ALSO: Breaking: Court Sentences IGP To 3 Months In prison

The lawmakers apologised for not following the directive of their party, the All Progressive Congress on the choice of Speaker to replace the late Funminyi Afuye, who died on the 19th of October, 2022, after a brief illness.

One of the suspended lawmakers, Kemi Balogun, representing Ado Constituency II had earlier apologized and was reinstated on Monday, October 28, 2022.

With the lifting of the suspension, four of the suspended seven lawmakers have been reinstated.

The House adjourned sine die, thereafter, to allow the various Committees of the House to scrutinise the 2023 Appropriation for eventual passage.


Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021