Connect with us


Akpabio Reveals Senate Committees, Names Adeola, Wadada As Chairmen



The president of the Nigerian Senate, Godswill Akpabio, during a plenary session on Tuesday, revealed the chairs of some standing committees, namely Appropriations, Public Accounts, Ethics, and Public Petitions and Establishment.

Akpabio stated that Senator Solomon Adeola will head the Appropriations Committee and Senator Ahmed Wadada will lead the Public Accounts Committee.

In the same session, Akpabio read a letter from President Bola Tinubu, who has requested the Senate’s confirmation of recently appointed service chiefs.

The Senate President said these service chiefs will be screened by the entire Senate at a yet-to-be-announced date.

Recall that President Tinubu had asked the House of Representatives for similar confirmation, with Speaker Abass Tajudeen reading the President’s request at Thursday’s plenary session.

READ ALSO: How Miracle Examination Centers Wreck Nigeria’s Education Sector

President Tinubu appointed new service chiefs to replace the previous ones with immediate effect on June 19.

The former security chiefs included retired Maj-Gen Babagana Monguno (National Security Adviser), Lucky Irabor (Chief of Defence Staff), Faruk Yahaya (Chief of Army Staff), Awwal Gambo (Chief of Naval Staff), and Isiaka Amao (Chief of Air Staff).

The new appointees include Nuhu Ribadu (National Security Adviser), Maj. Gen. Christopher Musa (Chief of Defence Staff), Maj. Gen. Taoreed Lagbaja (Chief of Army Staff), Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla (Chief of Naval Staff), and AVM Hassan Abubakar (Chief of Air Staff).

The new office holders have since resumed in an acting capacity awaiting confirmation by the National Assembly.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021