Connect with us


NJC Begins Screening Of 22 New Justices For Supreme Court



The National Judicial Council (NJC) has begun screening the 22 justices nominated by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) to fill vacant seats on the Supreme Court Bench.

The screening is taking place in the Boardroom of the NJC, and the exercise is presided over by the Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Olukayode Ariwoola.

It was learned that some of the justices have also arrived for the high-level screening, while the panel’s sitting is expected to last for about a week before the final selection of 11 justices that will fill the vacant positions from among the 22 nominees.

Recall that on November 16, it was reported that the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) nominated 22 justices of the Court of Appeal to the National Judicial Council (NJC) for elevation to the Supreme Court.

According to the FJSC document containing the 22 names, six of the nominees are from the North-Central region, while two are each from the South-West and the South-South.

The South-East region also has six nominees, while the North-East has two nominees.

READ ALSO: FG Seeks Partnership To Set Up Mobile Courts For Gender-based Violence

Here is the full list of the nominated justices;


1. Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)-Priority

1 A. Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State) -Reserve

2. Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)-Priority

2 AHon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)- Reserve

3 Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)-Priority

3 AHon Justice Chioma Nwosu-lheme (Imo State)-Reserve


1 Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)-Priority

1A Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)-Reserve


1 Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)-Priority

1 A Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)-Reserve


1 Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)-Priority

1 A Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau)-Reserve

2 Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)-Priority

2 A Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State) -Reserve

3 Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)-Priority

3A Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)-Reserve


1 Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)-Priority

1A Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


1. Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)-Priority

1A. Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State) -Reserve

2. Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)-Priority

2A Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)-Reserve.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021