Connect with us


Sanwo-Olu’s Free Medical Outreach “Alafia Eko” Begins



…50,000 residents to benefit

A free medical outreach aimed at providing essential healthcare services to 50,000 Lagos State residents begins tomorrow (May 30), following a directive from Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

The initiative, which will hold in all six health districts, is in fulfilment of Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s promise during his February 22 Media Chat. It is part of the broader Eko Cares programme, which is meant to reduce the hardship of the present economic situation.

Beneficiaries will receive free check-ups and treatments, including blood sugar and blood pressure checks, HIV counselling and testing, eye examinations and free glasses. There will also be treatment of minor ailments, free medications, health insurance and LASRRA registration.

Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Gbenga Omotoso, highlighting the government’s commitment to improving healthcare access for all residents, said: “We have finalised preparations to start the Alafia Eko medical outreach on May 30th. Each health district will host four outreach events in the first phase, targeting around 1,000 citizens per event, for approximately 25,000 individuals for the first phase”.

The programme will cover six health districts with specific locations for each:

READ ALSO: Senate Passes Bill To Reintroduce Old National Anthem

– Health District 1: Egbe Idimu (Alimosho LGA), Ifako-Ijaiye LGA Secretariat, Ipaja PHC (Alimosho LGA), Agege Legislative Complex

– Health District 2: Kosofe LG (Papa area, Oworo), Bariga LCDA (Pedro), Ikorodu West LCDA Secretariat, Agboyi-Ketu LCDA (Alapere)

– Health District 3: Epe Recreation, Iberekodo Primary School (Ibeju-Lekki LGA), Ikota Primary School (Eti-Osa LGA), Resettlement area (Araromi community, Eti-Osa East LCDA)

– Health District 4: Evans Square (Ebute Meta), Mini Campos Stadium (Lagos Island), Astroturf Stadium (Apapa), Aguda Praying Ground (Surulere)

– Health District 5: FHA Grounds (Festac Town, Amuwo Odofin LGA), Ojo LGA Secretariat, Suntan Beach (Badagry West LCDA), Ajeromi Ifelodun LGA Secretariat

– Health District 6: Methodist Primary School (Oshodi), Ejigbo Market, Bishop Aggrey Place (Mushin), Ikeja Under Bridge.

Facebook Comments

Copyright © 2021